By default, only YOU can edit content you own. Even once published to a class, by default, no other instructors can edit your content. However, in some cases, you may want your class-published content to be edited by another section instructor or a teaching assistant. In this case, if you are an instructor for a section, you can enable the ability for all content published to a section to be editable by any other instructor or teaching assistant also assigned to the section. This capability is disabled by default.
Enabling this feature applies to all class content across the section, and applies to all instructors and teaching assistants, including YOU. Meaning you will also be able to edit content published (and owned) by other instructors. You can always edit your own content.
If an instructor or teaching assistant selects to edit a piece of content that they do not own (does not appear in their My Content tab of the Echo360 home page), a message appears noting this, and asking to confirm that they want to proceed.
WARNING about cross-published content: Whenever an item is edited, the changes apply to ALL PUBLISHED VERSIONS of the content. This is also noted in the warning message shown when selecting to edit class content.
For example, if you teach two different sections of the same class and you publish the same content to both sections, if one of your co-instructors or a teaching assistants edits content from ONE of the sections, those changes will appear in the other section.
If this option is dimmed and you cannot change it, it means your administrator has it set at a higher level (organization, department, or institution) and with overrides disallowed for any lower levels. If you think you should be able to change the setting for your section, contact your administrator.
To enable co-instructor/teaching assistant editing ability
- Navigate to the SETTINGS tab for the course.
- Select Features from the left side of the tab, identified in the above figure.
- Toggle the Co-instructors edits switch on (it is disabled by default).
- Click OK on the confirmation message that appears.
Edit commands will now appear in the content icon menu for editable class content for all instructors and teaching assistants assigned to this section.