If you are an instructor for a section, you can enable the ability for all students in a section to be able to edit the transcriptions for the video/audio content published to a section. This allows you to assign transcription editing to students in the class if desired. This capability is disabled by default.
Enabling this feature applies to all video or audio media in the section, and applies to all students. When it is enabled, Students will see an Edit Transcript option in the media icon menu for the video in the class list.
WARNING about cross-published content: Whenever an item is edited, transcripts or otherwise, the changes apply to ALL PUBLISHED VERSIONS of the content.
For example, if you teach two different sections of the same class and you publish the same content to both sections, if one of your students edits the transcription for a video in ONE of the sections, those changes will appear in the other section.
If this option is dimmed and you cannot change it, it means your administrator has it set at a higher level (organization, department, or institution) and with overrides disallowed for any lower levels. If you think you should be able to change the setting for your section, contact your administrator.
To enable Student transcript editing ability
- Navigate to the SETTINGS tab for the course.
- Select Features from the left side of the tab, identified in the below figure.
- Toggle the Student Transcript Editor switch on (it is disabled by default).
- Click OK on the confirmation message that appears.
Edit Transcript commands will now appear in the content icon menu for video/audio class content for all students assigned to this section.